GoDaddy domain review

Price is important but we know that it's not everything. Registrar reviews and ratings allow you to find the balance between the cheapest domain and top quality service. Share your own experiences in order to help the community!
GoDaddy
2.2
(12 reviews)

Share your experience of GoDaddy

2016-09-02 a guest

GoDaddy is the worst choice. Too many "traps". Stay away from this forever.

2015-03-25 RegistrarFail

Pretty good company, their support is usually quick and on point, though sometimes I stump their support staff and sometimes the support guys sound like they have had a bad day when I try to ask advanced questions.

2015-03-15 Adam

Domain discount club is great value for cheap registration/renewal rates, no bulk purchases or coupon hunting required

2014-12-27 Jason

The worst. They will find ways to upsell and get you to accidentally purchase services you don't want/need.

2014-11-30 Dave

Like everyone else, I had my first 15 domains here, along with hosting. At some point I got sick of the horrible customer service, constant upselling, and weaksauce shared hosting, and moved on. Like everyone else. Right?

2014-11-30 Kyle P

Godaddy is generally terrible, on a good day mediocre. When I was young and stupid, I had all my domains hosted there (mostly because of the cheap intro prices). They try to upsell you on everything and try to sneak in hidden fees everywhere. The service is generally unreliable, and if something goes wrong, good luck with their customer service.

2014-11-30 Erinc

One of worst internet companies. Transferred around 50 domains from them and couldn't be happier.

2014-10-11 Sha

This just happened to me:

http://i.imgur.com/evFvGN0.png

On October 10th, 10:03 AM MST, I purchased 3 newly released URLs from Godaddy during the live release for .lawyer and attorney domains. They were then taken from my account 5 minutes later without cause and relisted online within half an hour for 1,700 x the original value ($60,000 - $72,000). See here: http://i.imgur.com/fVTfrij.png Just the receipt: http://i.imgur.com/2fgOKg5.png

The 3 URLs are: mediation.lawyer, orangecounty.lawyer, and bu.attorney. I paid $34.99 for each, which was the going price for each URL for the past week (before you could outright purchase them). Each one has significant, unique meaning to me. I received a receipt http://i.imgur.com/2fgOKg5.png, my bank account had funds withdrawn http://i.imgur.com/uKXQbW2.jpg, e-mail confirmation http://i.imgur.com/D5pql5p.png, and I was able to login in and start to work on each URL.

They are still for sale!!! Everywhere but Godaddy. http://i.imgur.com/3BuUgni.png I encourage you to look these up online, try enom.com, name.com, or any other registrar than Godaddy. What will you find?

Mediation.lawyer: Current selling price: $60,000 - $72,000 Here: http://i.imgur.com/gemkXCx.png Orangecounty.lawyer: Current selling price: $6,000 - $7,200 Here: http://i.imgur.com/1SGxBPy.png Bu.attorney: Not available anywhere.. I have no idea what happened to this one. (Oddly enough I purchased this based upon Godaddy's own suggestion after I tried bu.lawyer and it was taken)

Originally, when they disappeared 5 minutes later (10:08AM) from my account, I was shocked. So I checked all the domain registrars, they all said the URLs had been purchased (by me). 30 minutes later, everyone but Godaddy had relisted them, but now for prices of roughly 1,700 times greater in value.

In talking with the company I was been given no reasons. During a phone conversation they even threatened to cancel my account if I tried to reach out to their legal department. Now they sent a cancellation email almost 3 days later stating that the URLs had been deleted from my account. http://i.imgur.com/7UGUGRH.png

2014-10-11 Havinaball

Ripped off meaning stolen from, overcharged, etc. Here's an example... This just happened to me:

http://i.imgur.com/evFvGN0.png

On October 10th, 10:03 AM MST, I purchased 3 newly released URLs from Godaddy during the live release for .lawyer and attorney domains. They were then taken from my account 5 minutes later without cause and relisted online within half an hour for 1,700 x the original value ($60,000 - $72,000). See here: http://i.imgur.com/fVTfrij.png Just the receipt: http://i.imgur.com/2fgOKg5.png

The 3 URLs are: mediation.lawyer, orangecounty.lawyer, and bu.attorney. I paid $34.99 for each, which was the going price for each URL for the past week (before you could outright purchase them). Each one has significant, unique meaning to me. I received a receipt http://i.imgur.com/2fgOKg5.png, my bank account had funds withdrawn http://i.imgur.com/uKXQbW2.jpg, e-mail confirmation http://i.imgur.com/D5pql5p.png, and I was able to login in and start to work on each URL.

They are still for sale!!! Everywhere but Godaddy. http://i.imgur.com/3BuUgni.png I encourage you to look these up online, try enom.com, name.com, or any other registrar than Godaddy. What will you find?

Mediation.lawyer: Current selling price: $60,000 - $72,000 Here: http://i.imgur.com/gemkXCx.png Orangecounty.lawyer: Current selling price: $6,000 - $7,200 Here: http://i.imgur.com/1SGxBPy.png Bu.attorney: Not available anywhere.. I have no idea what happened to this one. (Oddly enough I purchased this based upon Godaddy's own suggestion after I tried bu.lawyer and it was taken)

Originally, when they disappeared 5 minutes later (10:08AM) from my account, I was shocked. So I checked all the domain registrars, they all said the URLs had been purchased (by me). 30 minutes later, everyone but Godaddy had relisted them, but now for prices of roughly 1,700 times greater in value.

In talking with the company I was been given no reasons. During a phone conversation they even threatened to cancel my account if I tried to reach out to their legal department. Now they sent a cancellation email almost 3 days later stating that the URLs had been deleted from my account. http://i.imgur.com/7UGUGRH.png

2014-10-11 Ulterios

Great registrar to use if you are buying domains to eventually sell because of their great registration coupon codes. I have used them for several years and never had anything but great and quick customer service. Maybe it's because I usually call them in the late afternoon or evening, but I have never waited on hold longer than 2-3 mins.

2014-10-03 Fatih Gulgonul

The worst domain registrar company ever seen.

There is almost no customer services, all emails come from noreply email addresses and you have wait at least 40 minutes to be able to speak to a representative.

In addition, they are extremely aggressive in selling to you...

I will transfer all my domains from them soon

2014-10-03 Judith Phillips

Stay away from GoDaddy!

I hate GoDaddy. Whoever is running it - if it is a human at all - is the worst customer service example on earth. No matter how many times I have clicked off on the auto renew, they somehow turn it on in time to bill me yet again. When I protested, they wrote me by email to give me instructions how to remove the domain, and said in their email "Once cancelled, please reply to this email with your confirmation to process the credit or refund..." But after following all their instructions, I replied to their email and they responded with the usual machine-canned-response about having to visit their website and "do not expect a reply to your previously sent email." Geez, how do these idiots stay in business. I'm going to cancel all my accounts, and since they make it totally impossible to actually get a refund as promised (by obscuring their contact info and bouncing my email even though sent exactly as they told me to), it's worth losing the money to get these bums out of my life forever. STAY AWAY FROM GO DADDY UNLESS YOU WANT TO FEEL LIKE YOU'RE STANDING IN LINE AT MOTOR VEHICLE EVERY TIME YOU WANT HELP. I just tried the chat line - at 11:15pm on a Saturday night, and there is a 50 minute wait. I won't phone in because their reps are clueless and the company isn't honorable enough to live up to verbal promises. I want it in writing.