Namecheap domain review

Price is important but we know that it's not everything. Registrar reviews and ratings allow you to find the balance between the cheapest domain and top quality service. Share your own experiences in order to help the community!
Namecheap
3.8
(21 reviews)

Share your experience of Namecheap

2016-11-11 jen Dajen

I do give it 5 stars, although they are by no means "perfect":

some hiccups in their system are by far balanced through an excellent real time chat support: these support agents do know their stuff, they are able to remedy issues right away, not like others where you talk to a brainless idiot in some mud hut in India who can actually do nothing but repeating that "I apoligize for YOUR problem, let me try to help you with that".

Their support is excellent.

Pricing is great, although I myself do use my own DNS and transfer each time to the cheapest domain provider.

Some of their domains are $0.88, and you really get that price, registering through the web interface, no need to call and being subject to some upsale.

general pricing is in the lower tier, great value for the $.

Jen

2016-06-02 user77

So fare very good, I have 2 years part of my domains here. Support is very friendly know how to solve problems immediately. Not so greedy with charging as 101domains :/ FIVE STARS !

2016-01-16 Just a customer of them

The tech support of this company stinks. It is outsourced to Kharkov, Ukraine, to some guys who don't even have their own website. They are incompetent, unable to solve problems, and they can easily make you mad in less than 24 hours. And it is not a kind of company where tech support is not needed, because everything works without problems. There are problems, tech support is needed. But you are on your own with these problems, because tech support will not solve them for you. Also, their nameservers come down under DDoS attacks from time to time, and their stuff can do nothing about it.

2015-06-20 Xin

Unlike many providers, they have a no bullshit website. I have a couple of domains with them with no issues. One small annoyance is that, once you log in, the management console is actually some 90s style vendor product - unlike their glossy website they use to attract customers - at least it works.

2015-05-12 Rance

Domain hosting is just fine, have never had a problem with it. Have used them for hosting on three sites and am pretty unimpressed. When some dink tried a DDoS on my site (from a single IP, if you can believe it) Namecheap didn't even notice it. When I discovered it, it had been going on for nearly three hours, and my site had been down for about one. I contacted them and it took them 12 hours to even admit that there was a problem, they kept telling me in chat that they couldn't see anything odd going on. Once they did admit it was happening, they were very reluctant to do anything. The DDoS stopped on its own and they said at that point they didn't need to do anything. I asked for advice to help prevent my site from going down if this happened again and they said there was nothing to be done, then finally suggested a Wordpress add-on that, when I checked into it, hadn't been updated in two years and was no longer viable. (I contacted the company that owned the IP that was sending all those pings, and they said THEY were the ones who had seen the unusual activity and stopped it.) A second problem: I wasn't able to pay the invoice on a hosting package immediately, so I asked them if I could pay in about 20 days and if my data would still be there once I paid. The service rep in chat was very nice, said yes my data would be retained, and I could even request a new invoice to keep my service up, all I had to do was open a support ticket. I did so and the person who replied immediately suspended my account two days BEFORE the invoice was due. Two weeks later, my data was deleted and I was told it was mandatory to now pay them $15 for a backup PLUS renewal fees. When I said I didn't want a backup, the reply was, "Let me explain the situation you're in," and they actually sounded threatening. Third example: Wordpress issued an emergency security fix for their platforms on April 27. This update to 4.2.1 was critical, but Namecheap never informed customers. I wouldn't have thought much about it except that, on May 11, customers received an email from Namecheap telling us to update to the 4.2.1 version of Wordpress, but get this: 4.2.2 had already been rolled out on May 6, five days before the Namecheap email was sent. I don't think they even KNOW about Wordpress 4.2.2. That's just unacceptable. As my hosting expires, I'll be moving my websites to another company.

2015-02-07 Paul Brown

They have received a lot of negative feedback on some review sites, but as a user, I have to say there instant chat help has been brilliant. I don't normally write reviews but I thought to in this case just to give feedback from my own experiences.

2014-11-30 Peter Roberts

This would be a star higher if namecheap made it clearer that there is a big price difference between .me registration and renewal prices.

Beyond that their service seems good, their management interface is a bit clunky but gets the job done if you know what you're looking for. It's probably written at least partially in Perl and I kind of like that - if it ain't broke don't fix it. The single domain I use with them is primarily for email and their free mail forwarding makes that easy

TL;DR: I would recommend them but suggest checking renewal prices before registration/transfer

2014-11-30 Eric

Quick/easy to use domain registration, competitive prices and they accept Bitcoin ! Also sponsoring the hackathon/education community (check out https://nc.me/ ).

2014-11-30 Dave

Good prices on domain registrations, *terrible* UI for customers, "blah" crappy standard shared hosting service, batteries not included (pay extra for e-mail, etc.). I use them as a domain registrar only, because every once in a while they run pro-net-neutrality promotions and the like.

2014-11-30 Kyle P

Been with NameCheap for around 7 years, never had a single problem. Domains are reasonably priced, DNS is free and works well (not anycast, for more reliability I use dnsmadeeasy.com). As others have mentioned, UI is a bit old and dated, but still works fine. It's my goto for quality and reliable domain registration.

2014-11-30 Kevin

Poor customer service. When my .me domain for my personal blog was marked as 'spammy' I didn't know my website was down for 3 days when someone mentioned my emails weren't going through. contacted customer support and they were next to useless. I sent 2-3 emails per day for about 3 days. Most of these emails were solicited first.

Spent 6+ hours chatting with them trying to get my domain back. Their ToS is really in their favor in that, they will revoke all of your domains if you initiate a charge back. They refused to help me negotiate with the .me registrar in getting my domain back or even notifying me that the domain had been seized.

No more namecheap for me.

2014-11-30 Erinc

No bullshit domain provider. Always had pleasant interaction with their customer support, their web interface is okay, no overselling etc.

2014-11-30 Reza

Name cheap is popular in technical circles. However, the UI is confusing, clunky, old, and very hard to use. Namecheap offers the same features as everyone else, so im not sure what the draw is.

2014-11-29 James

Great and only getting better. Awesome support, good prices, lots of great services.

2014-11-29 Phil tower

Namecheap provide excellent domain, DNS and shared hosting services.

Excellent proces, do search for promo codes as well philtower.co.uk for help setting up a website

2014-11-29 David Zekos

UI looks ancient. Cumbersome to use. UI is 50 character long.

2014-11-07 Anastasios

I am using namecheap for only a month but I am very satisfied both with their prices and their support system.

5 stars from me :)

2014-11-06 Herbst

Namecheap doesnt have the cutest interface when managing domains, and i've seen people just dont understand what they are supposed to do. But the service is great, the prices are usually one of the best and it feels like those people at namecheap actually care about their customers and the internet in general.

2014-10-11 Ulterios

Namecheap is a great registrar. Their prices are only about average most of the time but they do have a promotion sometimes for a great price on domains. They also have free whois guard for a year when you register a domain and whois guard can be bought for following years for $.99 which is the cheapest around. Their service and support is very fast and has always been outstanding. My favorite registrar for domains I am keeping and/or building/developing.

2014-10-03 Greg Dorrell

I've been using Namecheap for 8 years or so. Just for domains. Never used their support (haven't needed to!).

Pros:

Never had any issues.

No bullshit upselling/misleading pricing.

Prices aren't too bad.

Cons:

Their prices aren't always the cheapest.

The interface once you're logged in looks a bit dated.

2014-10-03 Max Zhu

So far the best domain provider.

I have used namecheap / name.com and enom.com. Personally I think namecheap is the best.

Price: 3 stars. Their price is only average compared with other providers. $10.69 for .com and $58 for io.

Console: 5 stars. Very easy to use.

Customer service: 5 stars. Very responsive and give suggestion straight away.